SUBWAY 2010 Junior Tennis Tournament Results

The annual SUBWAY tournament was held February 19 –February 22, 2010 results are as follows:

Age Category Finals Score
Girls Under  12 Iesha Shepherd d. Lily Evert 5-7, 6-0, 10-3
Girls Under 14 Gabriella Bowe d. Lily Evert 6-1, 6-0
Girls Under 16 Gabriella Bowe d. Dominique Mortier 6-0, 6-1
Boys Under 10 Cole Majra d. Kofi Bowe 6-0,6-0
Boys Under 12 Oneil Mortimer d. Ashton Major 6-4, 6-0
Boys Under 14 Philip Major d. Rasheed Carey 6-4, 6-0
Boys Under 16 Kevin Major d. Ondre Cargil Bye
Boys Under 18 Johnathan Taylor d. Kevin Major Bye
Girls Under 14 Doubles Shaytonya Missick & Gabriella Bowe def Lily Evert & Iesha Shepherd Bye
Boys Under 14 Doubles Shannon Francis & Ashton Major d. Oneil Mortimer & Malik Jones 8-3
Boys Under 18 Doubles Hubert Russell & Philip Major d. Johnathan Miller & Dirnaj Saunders 8-1

The first sanctioned tournament of the year took placed this past weekend at the Lucayan Bath & Racquet Club.  Godfrey ( Gully ) Bowe  Hosted about 35 junior tennis players from Nassau, Eleuthera and Grand Bahama to several days of healthy tennis rivalry.

This year’s players displayed a high level of competiveness and good sportsmanship as they vied for the first place trophies in the various age categories.  Despite the economic challenges being faced by many, Mr. Shuffle Hepburn, owner of SUBWAY restaurants, continued his commitment to youth development in sponsoring this year’s tournament once again.

Godfrey  ( Gully )  Bowe, dubbed this year’s tournament a huge success and extended sincere appreciation to Mr. Shuffle Hepburn of Subway restaurants, the players and their parents for contributing to such a successful tournament.

Subway 2010 Junior Tennis Tournament

Subway 2010 Junior Tennis Tournament

All players must be B.L.T.A. members. B.L.T.A. sanctioned rules apply. Maximum of 3 events (not singles).
Entry Deadline: Wednesday, February 17th at 8 pm. Entry Fee: Singles $15. Doubles $7 per player.
Must play age group in singles. Minimum of 4 entrants for a divisional draw. Entry Form